Shake It Up, Baby!!!

Good Morning,

Here it is, the first in a series of new-to-me techniques and supplies.  Actually, I have tried several of the upcoming techniques and supplies before but not whole-heartedly and not with the correct supplies or instructions so I didn’t have much success.  Now I’m armed with information to help me better accomplish my projects more successfully.  It’s still trial and error and practice does make perfect so off I go down a new path.

Today I will share with you the all well-loved shaker cards. I’ve done some in the past but sort of made it up as I went along.  Since then, I’ve watched numerous videos and have found that there are several ways to do this technique, some easier than others but all with good results.

There are actual little acetate box type holders for the shaker material but they are bulky, cost money and would add to the postage so I opted for a few more streamline and less bulky techniques.

Most of what I will be showing you come from videos/instructions by Jennifer McGuire. If you’re interested, just do a search for her and you come upon all her videos, blog and YouTube channel.  I like her because, although she shows specific supplies, she also gives alternatives.   Most of the following cards are made from guidance via her videos.

These cards are quite flat and easy to mail.  Tape runner and clear acetate hold the sequins and is attached to the card front.

This is Jennifer’s sample.                                             Here is my version.

          

These sparkle cards have a silver backing behind the acetate to you can not see through the card.

These heart shaker cards have a window on the front and the same cutout on the back so you can see clear through the entire card.

On this star shaker card, the star is made separately and adhered to the card base using dimensional foam.  A bit time consuming going around the star shape with the tape but I like the results.

This last card is actually made using tulle and not acetate.  I love the more feminine look. This is made the exact same way but using tulle instead of acetate.  On my card, I tried a new layering floral stamp I just got.  Not too bad for my first attempt.  I’m actually waiting on an order for more inks so I used a punch for the green leaves.  I also included some seed beads along with the sequins inside the tule for something a bit different.

This is Jennifer’s sample.                                                    Here is my version.

     

Lastly, another pair of shaker cards but with a twist.  Instead of using sequins, I used actual sprinkles.  How fun is this as a birthday card. The pink card I think I got a bit carried away with the amount of sprinkles.  I printed the card bases off my computer and used a square die for the opening.  I attached the acetate in the same manner.

I definitely will be making more shaker cards.  I especially like the tulle effect.  Most of these cards will be going to Card Care Connection as a donation.

Be sure to check me out on Pinterest at https://www.pinterest.com/linda42c/  (abitofmelac) where I have separate board for Jennifer’s videos.  I also pin most of what I do there so be sure to follow me, too.  Come back next week to see what my next technique/product will be.

Linda

 

This entry was posted in Birthday, Cards, CASE, Die Cut, Embossing, greeting cards, Handmade cards, Paper punch, Scan N Cut, Spellbinder Dies, stamping and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shake It Up, Baby!!!

  1. Janis says:

    As usual, love your work!

  2. Fran says:

    I love all of your shaker cards. My favorite is the tulle one.

Leave a Reply

