Reminicing and Card Making

Happy Thursday morning,

Wow, what a busy and creative week I’ve had.  It all started with joining in on a swap on one of my card making groups.  It’s called the ‘Alphabet Swap’.  The swap goes through the entire alphabet, one letter per month.  You make a card and swap it with an assigned partner.  Sounds great, huh?  Well, I just couldn’t leave well enough alone, you know me. Just making a card relating to the particular letter for that month seemed so ordinary so I’m setting myself up with a further challenge to the easy swap.  I’ve decided to make all my alphabet cards connected with a common theme.  As I thought about it, the very first idea that came to mind was an old childhood game I use to play called “A, MY NAME IS ALICE”.   I played this game using a Spaulding pink bouncy ball and I think, back then, it probably cost around 25 cents.

spaldeen-20110613120333

I  played this game for hours with my childhood friend, Dorothy, always trying to come up with new names, places and things to sell.  How much fun did we have!!! So this is the theme for my alphabet cards.  What a blast from my past trying to remember my choices from so very long ago, then trying to design a card using those choices.

So here is my first card, A is for apple. For this card, I chose a cute apple to embroider. It will be going out in the mail today to my swap partner, Debbie D.  I hope she likes it.lac-a-alphabet-swap-17More cards will follow as the weeks go by.

Up next for this week is a special order card.  My client showed me a card she liked and wondered if I could do something like it for her.  Of course I can, I love a challenge.  I printed out the graphic and hand cut, adding dimensional foam to add depth. A few hearts, 2 balloons and some twine complete this card. I also punched out a heart and lined it with red on the flap of the envelope.

YOURS                                                                             MINE

il_570xn-906150239_5cap-copy             lac-otter-valentine-sp-order-1-2017Between all the card making, I’m still continuing on with my Hardanger journey.  I’ll have more new projects to show next week.

Thanks for stopping by and be sure to leave a comment.  I love hearing from you.

Linda

 

This entry was posted in Cards, CASE, Embroidery on Paper, greeting cards, Handmade cards, Valentine's Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reminicing and Card Making

  1. Teresa says:

    Thank you for putting such care and detail into making such a beautiful valentines day card for my significant otter. ❤

  2. Pingback: The Letter “B”, Hardanger and My Most Favorite Crafting Item | A Bit Of Me LAC

Leave a Reply

