Happy 2017 – Off To A Good Start

Hi everyone,

Hope you all had a wonderful holiday season and that 2017 will prove to a great year for all of us.  Boy, I, for one, am glad to be rid of 2016 and look forward to a more positive 2017.

I didn’t post last week because, frankly, I had nothing.  Recuperating from the holidays took all my energy but I’m back now and have made great strides within the first few days of the new year.  I don’t make New Year’s resolutions because I only setting myself up for failure.  I’m terrible at keeping resolutions.  Actually, I haven’t even thought about what I would like to accomplish this year.  I figure I’ll go with the flow.  I will continue learning Hardanger, try some Blackwork and maybe some more Silk Ribbon Embroidery.

I have been busy making Valentine cards. I know it’s early, but I like to be way ahead so I’m not under pressure to get things done.

This first batch of cards were made for Card Care Connection, a non-profit organization, where I have been donating cards. Here’s the link if you are so inclined to do the same .  Be sure to read the rules.  http://cardcareconnection.com/MailCards.aspx

I pulled some graphics from various sources, cut out and used foam dots.  I also embossed the backgrounds for added texture.  A few other embellishments to complete each card.  Super easy.  You can tell I like the old vintage style cards with really cute and sometimes corny pics and phrases.  Those were the days!111-17-lac-valentine-ccc1111-17-lac-valentine-ccc2111-17-lac-valentine-ccc3

I also made up two special cards for my two youngest grand-babies. They’re 2 1/2 and 3 1/2 years old and both into Paw Patrol.  Again, pulled the graphics from the internet .  I first printed the card base and then a 2nd graphic which I used to cut and attach with foam dots.

For Dommy.118-17-lav-valentine-dommyFor Demi.119-17-valentine-demi

I did make up more Valentine cards but will save them for next week.

For my card making group, we have a  challenge for January to make a masculine card. For me, these are the hardest cards to come up with a manly theme so I turned to Pinterest for inspiration.

                              YOURS                                                                  MINE

110-72edb2e5f3af5a8a21b7c5b518820176    110-17-lac-male-chlg-peandpc-1-2017

Lastly, an embroidery on paper card that I made this past week.  On my card making group we have 2 more events this month. (1) Celtic pattern challenge and (2) Border swap. I was smart enough to incorporate both these themes into one card which will be my swap card that I will be sending to my partner.

I used 2 different patterns, one for the border and another for the central motif which I elongated to fit into the space.  I used gold metallic thread, dark green stock along with some gold for the frame.  The center motif I cut using an oval die and added gold foil border stickers.  Not too tough but it sure took lots of time to stitch. Hoping my partner, Brenda, will like it.122-17-lac-celtic-pepc-1-2017

Well, there you have it.  Not a bad start to the new year.  What are you doing for the new year?

Linda

This entry was posted in Cards, CASE, Die Cut, Embossing, Embroidery on Paper, greeting cards, Handmade cards, Holidays, Kids, Uncategorized, Valentine's Day, Vintage post and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

