Remember? from Past Posts

Hello friends,

Today, here in Boston, I’m prepping for an Arctic blast expected for tomorrow.  We’re expecting a low of 1° with a wind chill of -17° to -25°.  Yikes, that’s cold even for us New Englanders so you know that I’ll be hunkered down inside my home with my woolies.  I have lots to keep me busy and warm.

REMEMBER my planned trip to Jo-Ann’s last week?  They had fat quarters on sale for $1 each.  Well, I was bad, very bad.  I purchased 87 fat quarters. I have no particular project in mind but these are always good to have on hand just in case.  I have used up quite a bit of my fabric stash recently making several utility quilts so I really needed to replenish my stock.  I’m thinking “PIN CUSHIONS”.

Fat quarter stash haul.img_3499And REMEMBER I said “Think PVC”?  1-cut-and-sand-copyHere’s my mystery project.  Pin cushion bases.img_3500I’ve been trying out some bottle cap pincushions but really wanted something a bit larger. Brainstorming with the ‘Big D’, we came up with this idea:  PVC.  We cut the PVC into 3/4″ pieces.  Here are the first 10, all stuffed and ready to be embroidered.  I won’t post all the tutorial pics but if anyone is interested, just let me know and I’ll include them in a special post.  

Here are a few bottle cap pin cushions I had already made up using bottle caps from juice bottles.  Cute, free and easy but I like the size of the PVC better.img_3394

REMEMBER many months ago I mentioned that I was working on holiday gifts? Well, all my gifts were sent and received so I think it’s safe to show some pics.

This year I made mug rugs and matching glass coasters (for those friends who drink wine). I had lots of fun making these since they were simple and gave me an opportunity to get creative and design a few on my own.  Some I used the fabric as is and others I designed some applique work.lac-for-connie-xmas-2016lac-for-diana-xmas-2016lac-for-dottie-xmas-2016-2lac-for-janis-xmas-2016-2lac-for-pat-xmas-2016lac-for-robin-xmas-2016lac-for-sal-xmas-2016lac-for-ta-xmas-2016lac-for-winnie-xmas-2016lac-mug-rugs-hearts-xmas-2016-2lac-mug-rug-xmas-2016

So I think I’ve covered everything I wanted to share this week.  Not sure how much I will accomplish in the next few weeks with the holidays and such but I do know that I’ll be making pizzas this weekend, very special pizzas.

See you soon,

Linda

 

This entry was posted in Christmas, embroidery, Handmade Crafts, Holidays, Home Dec, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Remember? from Past Posts

  1. Fran says:

    Linda you are so talented!!! I love the pin cushions and love the wine coaster gift sets. Everything is awesome. Merry Christmas and a Very Happy New Year. Hugs, Fran

Leave a Reply

