One Week and One Day Late

Happy Friday to all,

Okay, so I’m a week and a day late in posting.  Frankly, I didn’t really have much of anything to share last week.  I was in the process of embroidering a piece but it wasn’t finished so not much to share then.

But this week has been more productive. I have 2 items to share.

First, that embroidered piece I was working on last week….where did it end up? I wasn’t sure what I would do with the final embroidered piece and took several days to think about it.  I certainly don’t need another toss pillow nor do I need any more wall art. So what to do with this piece?  Hmmmm……then it dawned on me.  Since starting up Yoga again, I need a bag to tote all my junk to class.  Voila!!!  A new Yoga tote bag.

The front panel is the embroidered piece I was working on, a version of “The Tree of Life”, a design I’ve been wanting to do for a long time. The foundation cloth is ecru linen so I used brown crewel thread to embroider the design. The bag itself I used leftover Batik fabric in brown tones and some black nylon webbing for the handles. I also put a pocket inside.  It’s a pretty large size, measuring 15″x17″ and has a box bottom.  Now I have a cute bag to lug all my junk.

img_3397

The other project I’ve been working on is teaching myself Hardanger.  I didn’t work on it constantly so it took me about 5 days to finish up Lesson One.  Whose idea was this anyway?  Norwegian embroidery is beautiful and I’ve always admired the look so why not give it a try.  The on-line lessons I’m following are okay but when you’re not sure what you are doing, they can be vague. Maybe it’s me but I need to ‘see’,  so  I needed to find some videos to watch on how to actually accomplish what the word were saying.  Coats & Clark have great videos on beginner Hardanger.  I muddled through the instructions and videos and was able to complete Lesson One. One thing I noticed is that I had trouble seeing the tiny holes in the cloth. I even used my magnifying glasses.  Maybe I should have tried this technique 20 years ago when my eyesight was better LOL.  I will continue on to Lesson Two.  When stitches go right, I like this technique.  But, when I mess up, I want to toss it in the trash trying to convince myself that this is ‘too hard’.  Actually, the stitches themselves are not hard but lots of counting and focusing on tiny holes.

It’s a small piece, measuring 6″x6″.  I used red crewel threads, No. 5 and No. 8 as per the instructions.  Usually this technique is done in white or ecru but using red made it easier to see where I was going next.

2016-10-14-04-58-42

If I don’t have a nervous breakdown, maybe I’ll have Lesson Two to show you next week.

Have a great week.

Linda

This entry was posted in embroidery, Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Week and One Day Late

  1. Pingback: Thank You | Fran's Spot

Leave a Reply

