A Quilt for a Special Gal

Happy Thursday,

Do you have a favorite day of the week?  For most working gals, Friday is the best day of the week.  You get 2 days off for good behavior.  Yeah, right!   You have cleaning, laundry, shopping, meal planning!  It’s more like being punished for working hard all week long.   But, then when you retire, every day is Friday. Thursday was always my favorite day of the week because it was pay day.  Which is your favorite day of the week?

Thursday is now sort of a pay day for me, I get to post.  Sometimes I have lots to share, other weeks I’ve been a slacker.  It all depends on what’s planned and how much ‘necessary’ stuff I have to do.  This past week I found the time to finish up a project and actually get it in the mail.  Most of you know that I get up very early in the morning, anywhere between 1-3 AM.  Yes, AM.  It’s my favorite time of day, my quiet time to take care of my emails and get some work done on whatever it is I’m working on.  Thanks to my quiet time, I was able to get this project completed in one week.

So what’s the project?  A quilt set, of course.  A couple of weeks back I heard that a good family friend received a huge promotion at work.  Dean of Students.  Such an accomplishment couldn’t go unrecognized.  Since our friend moved cross country to San Francisco last February she’s had to begin furnishing her apartment again a little at a time. With that in mind, I thought what could be a great and useful gift.  A quilt, of course.  I got a vague idea of her decor, one black leather sofa.  Yep, that’s it.  So I had to come up with a color scheme that would fit in but also accent the decor.  Black, white and a spot of one accent color.  This is what I came up with.

“Star Gazing” is the name of this quilt and I thought it very appropriate.  Darn sunshine made the white blocks a bit wonky.  Instead of the typical batting, I used a vintage white cotton sheet from my stash, still in the packaging. The tag said “Jordan Marsh” so how long have I had this flat sheet?  Sheeting makes for a warm but not bulky quilt, perfect for San Francisco weather.img_3360I also made 2 matching pillows. (better lighting)img_3363Then for a bit of color, I added on 2 more fun pillows I made from my pillow fabric purchase a few weeks ago.  Both are a bit sassy with the jute trim and long fringe.img_3366And, of course, the signature plate on the back revealing the recipient.  I hope Lauren has received the package already.  If you’re reading this post before your package has arrived, Lauren, stop and immediately go to the corner for a time out.img_3370

I hope Lauren likes her quilt and pillows.  All the pillows have an envelope back so Lauren can switch then out if she wants a color change.  Lauren has been so successful in her career and we all wish her the best of everything.  Way to go gal!!!

October is fast approaching so next week I’ll be back with some Halloween items.

One last note:  Happy Autumn!!!  Finally fall has arrived but with temps in the 80’s it still feels like summer.  Because of the hot weather and drought conditions here in New England, our fall foliage will not be very spectacular this year.  That’s OK with me as long as the cooler weather arrives soon.

See you all next week,

Linda

This entry was posted in Home Dec, Quilting, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Quilt for a Special Gal

  1. Fran says:

    Linda the quilt is amazing! I love the color combination and the style of the quilt. Your friend is going to love the quilt and the pillows too. I know she will just scream when she opens her package. You are such an amazing friend! God Bless you!
    Hugs, Fran

Leave a Reply

