Hello to all,

It’s been a somewhat crazy week here.  I’ve been so busy trying to tie up loose ends and finish up my current sewing projects.  Out with the old, in with the new!

A couple of things I would like to share with you today.  While going through my stash looking for something totally unrelated, I came upon three silk ribbon embroidery pieces I did up back in 2009.  Can’t remember why I made these up but they went unfinished for seven years.  I decided to resurrect them and do something fun.  Gosh, I didn’t need any new pillows, I already have about a million.  So what to do with these pieces?  I’ll make wall art.

Here’s how I accomplished this for little money.  I went to Joann’s armed with two 60% off coupons.  After searching the entire store for some sort of artist canvas or backing that would work, I found unfinished wood frames in approximately the size I wanted. I had already framed each piece with some leftover fabric knowing that I could add another small border if I needed to enlarge the finished piece so size wasn’t a huge issue.  Each frame was $9.99 but with 2 coupons I got both for under $9.  Since I planned to wrap the piece around to the back, the only thing that mattered was that the front of the frame was flat.  I removed the glass and built up the void with some leftover mat board to make it flush with the wood frame.  Then I could easily center the design, wrap to the back and staple.  So simple and easy.  Voila, instant wall art!

This piece has two smaller SRE pieces, which I fringed the edges, stitched onto a piece of plaid fabric, fringed those edges and the stitched to another fabric backing.  These were placed landscape on the frame.lac-sre-wall-art-9-2016-aThe second piece was larger so I mounted it portrait style.  I used whatever scraps of fabric I had and made it work.  lac-sre-wall-art-9-2016-b

Of course, I have no idea where these pieces will finally end up but for now they rest on the top shelves of my 2 library ladders in the living room.

My next fun project was just that, FUN!  I found the fabric a few weeks ago and I knew I had to have it.  Just too cute and so true!!!  I made up 4 simple pillows, 2 for me and 2 for friends.  My friends love their pillow and so do I.  I keep mine on my chairs at my craft area, one at my computer and the other at my work table chair. A little cushion for the lower back or the tush helps when sitting for long periods of time.lac-create-pillows-8-2016

Notice all the fabric in the background and one of the SRE pieces before I mounted it.  You can see that my work area does get messy!!

This last project I’ll share today is some things I made up last year.  I did a swap with a group and I received a wonderful packet of fabrics.  It took me awhile to decide what I wanted to make but finally decided on some sewing accessories.  That way I could see and use the great fabric.

Here’s the fabric pack and all the wonderful fat quarters.from-hazel-fabric-aI first made up this cute and very handy owl tool holder.  I keep my essential tools close by when working and get to giggle a bit.  How fun is this!!lac-owl-hazel-swap-fabric-2-2015I wanted to use all the fabrics so I went ahead and made some pattern weights using rice inside to weigh the down. This pic shows the fabric pieces before stuffing.lac-pattern-weights-hazel-fabric-2-2015Lastly, using every bit of fabric, I made up a thread catcher to put all the bits of thread in as I work and trim threads.  Next to the thread catcher is a glass jar where I was collecting all my thread bits.  I think the fabric thread catcher is much nicer.lac-thread-catcher-hazel-swap-2-2015

Oh, one last thing.  What the heck is going on in my garden?  It’s mid-September, time to wind down the garden but look what I found yesterday, in full bloom!!!!

An EASTER LILY!  Frankly, I didn’t even know this was here amid my Day Lilies that have since bloomed and died back.  Aren’t Easter Lilies suppose to bloom around spring time?  Is my garden freaky or what?  I’m lovin’ it and my off season Easter Lilies have become the talk of neighborhood.

easter-lily-9-2016

Next week I will show you a quilt set for a friend.  I will be mailing it out next week to Lauren who is in San Francisco.  I don’t want to spoil the surprise just in case Lauren reads my blog, so be patient.

So there you have it.  Another zany week from my world.  Come back next week to see what new trouble I can get myself into.

Linda

 

This entry was posted in Garden, Handmade Crafts, Home Dec, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. TA Carbone says:

    OMG that Owl is AMAZING

Leave a Reply

