THREE NEW PILLOWS

Good afternoon friends,

I’m a bit late posting today because I took an adventurous step out of my comfort zone.  I went for an acupuncture treatment.  I suffer from chronic back pain among other bothersome nuisances and can’t seem to get any opinion, diagnosis or treatment.  So I’ve taken matters into my own hands.  I had no idea what to expect but was pleasantly surprised to find it quite soothing.  The acupuncturist was so nice, attentive, knowledgeable and helpful.  I expressed my complaints and within 1/2 hour I was looking a bit like a voodoo doll!!  And believe it or not, it didn’t even hurt so those of you who are nervous about needles and shots, this was a piece of cake.  I sat in a comfy chair in a dimly lit room with soothing new age music and drifted into nothingness.  About 1 hours later, I was de-pinned and felt great.  I know that the effects of acupuncture take time but just sitting quietly for 1 hour was relief enough for me.  We set up a treatment plan and schedule.  I’ll go back next week for another treatment.  I’ll keep you posted of the results but for now I’m quite pleased.

Now onto some new things I’ve completed this past week.  It’s pillow time again.

This first pillow was a blast from my past, candle wicking,  I did some of this technique years ago and always wanted to do more.  I love to make Colonial Knots and a pillow project seemed to fit the bill.  And what luck, I actually had #5 Pearle Cotton to match the fabric exactly.  A simple design which didn’t take very long at all.  I find it very relaxing to this type of embroidery.lac-candlewick-pillow-8-2016Next is a pillow for my granddaughter, Demi.  It’s actually a pajama pillow.  I happened to find a cross stitch piece I did several years ago and thought it would be a good focal point for a pillow.  I made a pocket for the PJ’s and another for her favorite bedtime books. The polka dot fabric and rick rack were from my stash.  How cute is this!lac-pj-book-bag-8-2016Lastly, I made a special pillow for my friend, Fran.  Fran re-did her bedroom and needed some accent pieces.  I came across the embroidery pattern on Pinterest and knew immediately that it would be a perfect centerpiece for the pillow.  I trimmed out the pillow a border of floral print and another border of ticking fabric.  I also made a pleated ruffle as a final accent.  Fran loved it and it has found a happy and special place in her home.lac-fran-8-2016-1

I’ll leave you this week with one (really 2) very cute and special pictures of my granddaughter, Demi.  These pics were taken last Tuesday, her very first day of pre-nursery.  A bit of separation anxiety but I think she’ll be fine in no time.  She actually was very excited to go and enjoyed playing with all the kids.

img_0488Of course, it was raining so we just had to adorn ourselves with our new  rain gear.img_0508And it gives me 3 hours, 3 days a week for ‘me’ time which I quickly turned into sewing time.  I’m now working on a special quilt for a special gal and hopefully it will be complete by next week.

So be sure to stop by next Thursday and see what I’m up to.

Linda

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch, Handmade Crafts, Home, Home Dec, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to THREE NEW PILLOWS

  1. Fran says:

    Linda your Granddaughter, Demi is so adorable. And she looked so fashionable for her first day of school. And your pillows are beautiful. I just love the one you made me. Love, Fran

Leave a Reply

