Catch of the Day that Didn’t Get Away!

Hi friends,

So it’s already the middle of April and only 2 weeks left for my spring cleaning schedule. I’ve finished up my portion of the entire first floor with only the kitchen and carpets left. Then onto the basement but that’s a 2 man job so I’ll wait for help.

We’ve hired a mason to finish up our front yard makeover and work should begin in 3 weeks.  We’ve also ordered my new front door which will also take about 3 weeks to arrive. I do have some Iris to move somewhere else in my garden and my 2nd Wisteria tree will be going to a new adoptive home. It will be a chore to dig it out and prep for transport to it’s new home. It will require a 3′ x 3′ root ball to be dug out in tack, wrapped, transported and replanted into it’s new pre-dug home in a friend’s garden. I hope it survives as Wisteria don’t like to be transplanted.  I’ve also saved a bunch of seeds just in case the tree doesn’t survive the move.

Enough with the chit chat.  How many of you enjoy a great tuna sandwich?  I love a tuna sandwich made with very fresh white bread, some chips and a tall glass of milk.  I also like a bit of onion and celery in my tuna.  Once a week I try to serve sandwiches to my crew making for an easy dinner.  So here’s my new plan.  Usually, I need to open 8-10 cans of tuna to feed a crowd of 8.  Ever try opening 10 cans with a handheld can opener? By can number 3, my wrists are aching and my fingers cramping not to mention all the cans to be washed for recycling.  Well, I’ve found an alternative.  Check this out!!!

IMG_2981 (1)

Notice the size difference from the regular can of tuna.  This mega can comes from BJ’s and weighs in at 4 lbs. 2.5 oz.  Not sure how many sandwiches I’ll get from this one can but I need about 24 for tonights supper and some for lunches tomorrow.  I’ll post a pic later to show how many sandwiches I actually got.  I feel like I’m working on a food truck!!!

Onto a project I’ve completed, a new quilt.

I made this utility style quilt using scraps of all Batik fabrics I had in my stash.  Simple 5″ squares sewn together forming rows.  I added some simple straight line machine quilting and a hand sewn binding. I made this quilt for an upcoming gift but I won’t give away the details.  I want it to be a surprise.IMG_2975

Well, there’s my week…..A can of tuna and a quilt.  How exciting is my life LOL.

Thanks for stopping by.  See you all later,

Linda

This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Catch of the Day that Didn’t Get Away!

  1. Fran says:

    Good luck with the tuna sandwiches! And your quilt is amazing. I know the recipient will just love it. Hugs, Fran

Leave a Reply

