Dish Towels and cards

Good morning,

Today I’m sharing with you this year’s ‘friends’ gifts that I made sometime back in the spring.  Every year I try to make something special for my friends and am always on the hunt for a project that is simple and quick to make production style.

While watching an episode of “Quilting Arts”, I saw a project for a potholder featuring a fried egg design.  How cute would that be to make!!  Of course, I gave potholders last year so I bumped it up to dish towels.  I had also thought that a mason jar could be an easy design to appliqué.  I found some simple line drawings and made up my own templates for the appliqué designs.

My first thought was to purchase ready-made dish towels and appliqué  my designs but soon found out that plain towels were almost impossible to find and then the cost would be crazy expensive.  I re-thought my choices and decided to purchase fabric and make my own towels.  I went to my local fabric store, cruised around for hours looking for a good fabric for dish towels.  I asked the sales girl for suggestions and she told me that they sell dish toweling by the yard. How great is this!!!  I purchased yards of the fabric and went on my merry way thinking I was so clever and lucky to find such a fabric.  I returned home and immediately started on making the towels.

That’s when all the trouble started.  For some unknown reason my Singer machine kept skipping stitches.  I tried over and over again but had such a frustrating time trying to figure out what was wrong.  Then the unthinkable happened…..my loyal and beloved Singer machine seized up……grrrring at me and unable to do anything but flash an ‘error’ message.  After 2 days of fiddling around with the machine I decided to move over to my new Brothers machine.  I decided to change over to a cotton fabric for the towels and went on my way to finish up my appliques.  Then the unthinkable happened….my Brothers machine also seized up!  What the heck!!!!  I had a few more towels to finish and now I had no machine.  I was going crazy, pulling my hair out and ranting and raving to myself.  How could this happen to me, not once, but twice????  Blah, blah, blah, I finally decided to bring my Singer in for repair.  $189 later, it was fixed but by this time I was so frustrated that I said no more towels for me.  I would have to make do with the ones I had already completed.  Now what to do with my Brothers machine.  I made the decision that since it was very inexpensive I would forgo another $189 repair bill and let Domenic take a look at it.  What a genius is he.  He managed to figure out that it did, indeed, seize up, took the machine apart, fixed the problem, reassembled it back together and VOILA, it worked.

So the moral to this story is……even though I’ve been sewing for almost 60 years and never have I broken a machine ever, ever, shit does happen.  I just can’t figure out why I got hit with a double whammy this time.  I honestly think that all this trouble was caused, for some strange reason, by the dish toweling fabric.  I guess even a sewing machine have a right to be fussy about who it associate with!!!!

With all this said, here are the infamous towels.  I took it one step further and designed holiday greeting cards to match.

IMG_1681

IMG_1683

IMG_1684

For all my friends who have received their gift, it was truly a labor of love this year!  The response has been wonderful so, for my friends, it was all worth it.

Enjoy,

Linda

This entry was posted in Cards, greeting cards, Handmade Crafts, Home, Home Dec, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dish Towels and cards

  1. Robinongo says:

    Beautiful work. Creative and unique. You are amazing!

  2. Janis says:

    Thanks again, Linda! I guess I was one of the lucky ones! They are really beautiful, the quality is excellent, and, as always, your craftsmanship is most excellent!

Leave a Reply

