Throwback Thursday…Continuing on with my quilts

Hi All,

I remembered this week that it’s Throwback Thursday!!  Here are pics of some Christmas quilts I made back in 1987-88. Don’t forget, I was just a self-taught beginner so be kind LOL. You can read the beginning of my quilting journey on my post from April 16, 2015.

This quilt I made in 1987 for myself and still have it and use it at the holidays.  My first real attempt at block piecing, the Maple Leaf pattern. No hand quilting, just tied knots.004 LAC Maple Leaf w:borders 1987

This next quilt was even more simple, 9 patch with borders made in 1988. Again, no hand quilting, just knots.005 LAC 9 Patch w:Borders1988

Guess I was into polkadots. Another Christmas quilt, this time called Courthouse Steps. Again a simple design to work. More knot tieing.006 Court House Steps Quilt 1988I must have been getting a bit more confident so I tried this 8 pointed star.  There’s those polkadots again. I think I did OK with my star points. It sometimes can be tough to keep those points on track and not lose them in the 1/4″ seam.

007 LAC 8 Point Star 1988And my final Christmas quilt, a Log Cabin Variation.  I won’t mention the polkadots or the knots again!008 Log Cabin Variation Quilt 1988I don’t have any of these last 4 quilts so I’m sure I gave them as gifts.  Hope they’re still being used.

I’ll finish up with a card I just made for a color challenge on one of my cardmaking groups. The challenge:  Strictly Blue.  Harder than you may think but I did it. Everything on this card is blue although the lighter shades appear white. I used a Marinne Design die LR0248 for the flowers in the circle and adhered them with thin foam dots.  Added some crystals for bling.LAC Blue Challenge 4-2015 PCD

 

Well, another week, another post.  I hope that you all like my vintage quilt posts for Throwback Thursday.  Let me know.  Have a great week and see you next Thursday with some more of my vintage quilts.

Linda

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Cards, Die Cut, greeting cards, Handmade cards, Holidays, Home, Home Dec, Quilting, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

