Spring has Sprung!!!

Happy morning to all,

Don’t you just love spring!  We are finally having some decent weather although still temperatures below average but I’ll take it.

Remember this photo I blogged on March 21st?  It was snowy, rainy and still lots of snow to get rid of!

Spring 10`5 bNow look at what a difference just 3 weeks makes.  Yahoo, all my snow in my yard is gone!

IMG_1984

With all the snow melted away, it is yard clean up time but with the cooler weather and the wind, it’s impossible to get outside and do yard work so I’ve turned my efforts inward and started my spring cleaning.  Surprisingly, my home isn’t as bad as I thought it would be. I’m buzzing through the rooms and hope to be done by the end of this week. I will move to the basement and then outside.  What a plan!  Hope my energy holds out!!!

Since I’m in spring mode, I decided to make a more colorful cover for my bed.

LAC Peach quilt 3-2015 b

I got this fabric several weeks ago because I just love the peach-y colors.  I didn’t have a definite plan for the fabric and only purchased 2 yards of each print.  Of course, I had to think about how I would use this fabric and came up with a very simple approach.  Using the length (2 yards) of the fabric as the width, I sewed long panels together. And, of course, I didn’t have any fabric for the backing so I used a new plain white flat sheet, full size, for the backing. Perfect! I put it together using the self binding method, sewing all around and then flipping to the right side.  I also chose NOT to put any type of batting in the middle which makes this perfect for the warm summer nights to come. And no quilting or knots. Just plain and simple. Quick and easy and definitely a project any beginner could do without any trouble.

With the scraps left, I decided to make a bolster pillow.  LAC Peach quilt 3-2015 c

I didn’t have a bolster form so needed to come up with an idea without having to go and purchase a pillow form.  I made up the striped panel in the width needed, added a folded piece of fabric to the ends to give a finish ruffle to the ends.  For the inside bolster form I came up with idea for using up some pieces of fleece too small for anything useful.  I took several layers of fleece and began rolling them together into a log and as a final layer rolled the fleece log with a piece of muslin.  I added some thin string ties to keep it all together. Then I rolled the striped panel around the fleece log and secured with a couple of pins.  I added a bit of ribbon to tie up the ruffle ends and finished!!!!  How easy is that.

So why all this cleaning you ask????  I don’t want to say too much but I may get a visit in May from my son and his family.  Hopefully, they will fly into Boston from San Antonio, Texas.  I will finally get to meet my grandson, Domenic Jack.  He’s now 9 months old, standing and ready to start walking.  I’ll keep you posted.

Have a great day.

Linda

 

This entry was posted in Family life, Garden, Handmade Crafts, Home, Home Dec, Quilting, Sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring has Sprung!!!

  1. Robin says:

    Happy Monday! Your new bed cover is beautiful, you are very clever! Chevron is very “in”.

Leave a Reply

