FINALLY!! A Finished Sweater

Hi All,

Well, wonders will never cease.  After 6 brutal weeks of knitting, I finally finished my sweater.  Of course, it’s nothing like I had planned.  I had to make many compromises along the way.  This is not the original pattern I started with; nor it is the next pattern I selected or even the next pattern.  My intent was to make myself a Aran type sweater with all the cables and fancy stitches.  Not that it’s hard….I’ve made them before.  But for some reason this time I just couldn’t concentrate on the pattern.  I couldn’t even get past the first row without interruptions.  Then you lose your spot and have to rip out and start over again.  After numerous tries and much frustration, I decided to do my own thing.  I followed the basic pattern shapes, number of stitches, rows, increases and decreases but as for the actual pattern of stitches, I just looked in my knitting dictionary, selected a stitch that fit into the number of stitches I had and knitted for several rows.  They once I became tired of that stitch, I repeated the process with another stitch pattern.  And, as usual, the finished sweater isn’t without mistakes but it’s all about the journey.

I think that I will be able to wear this without a jacket since it’s very heavy and dense.  It’s also a bit oversize although I made the correct size for me and my gauge was correct.  At any rate, I’m sort of happy with the end results……I think.  What do you think???

I have 3+ skeins of yarn left over so I’m making a matching scarf.  Maybe a hat and mittens??  Would I look too goofy with an entire matching ensemble?  LOL Ooooh, leg warmers, too!

Anyway, don’t be too critical and be kind with your comments. I bruise easily LOL.   I do believe that this will be my last sweater project.  My eyes and fingers just don’t work as they once did.

Sweater front

LAC Front 2014

Sweater backLAC Back 2014Linda

 

This entry was posted in Knitting, Yarn and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to FINALLY!! A Finished Sweater

  1. Lois says:

    I like it Linda, I did the same with a scarf I am making, chose a pattern with cables and after knitting about 6 inches I discovered their pattern was wrong in the fact that it didn’t say you had to do about 8-10 rows of garter stitch at the beginning to stop the scarf from curling in. So I pulled it undone started again doing the garter stitch, still didn’t like it, undone it came again, and all I used from the original pattern was 1 cable and I added 2 other cables and changed the back ground stitching. I have done about 24 inches of it and am pleased with how it looks, so I know where you are coming from.

  2. robinongo says:

    I love it! You did an awesome job. It looks very fancy with the different stitches.

Leave a Reply

