A New Quilt from an Old Pattern

Hi All,

Sorry I missed you last week but I was trying my best to finish up this quilt but just didn’t make it.  Poor Miss Demi has been sick so she’s required lots of attention. She’s cutting 2 more teeth plus a molar and a cold just to make it worse. Thankfully, after about 2 weeks, she’s starting to feel much better.  Oy, I forgot how cranky sick babies can be.

So I had an order for a quilt made up from autumn colors.  I thought of doing something I’ve been wanting to try for years:  Sunshine and Shadow.  However, when researching this Amish style quilt, I found that the squares are about 2″.  Yikes!!!  I can’t ever see myself making a quilt with such little tiny squares.  Albeit beautiful, I decided that I don’t have enough life time left to complete such an endeavor.  So thinking outside the box, I thought who says the blocks need to be 2″?  For me, the bigger, the better so I decided to cut my blocks 5 1/2″.  Not exactly the same effect but I like it and moreover, it didn’t take me a lifetime!!

This is a sample of what the traditional Sunshine & Shadow block looks like.  Notice the little size.Sunshine & ShadowAnd here is my version, sized up to a 5 1/2″ block.  I added 2 pillows to complete the set.IMG_1211Machine quilting close up.  I used a variegated thread.  BTW, this variegated thread cost me $11.99 for the spool.  It was a huge spool of thread and I thought I’d never in a lifetime use it all.  Well, after my 3rd quilt using this thread, the spool has dwindled down!  I’m glad I spent the money since the thread is great and beautiful!IMG_1214I also finished up a second “Monet” quilt for my daughter, Jenn.  It’s just like the first one I made up a few weeks ago.

Now onto new things.  After making several seasonal table mats and table runners, I had a hankering to do more so I purchased 2 books.  The books came Wednesday and by last evening I was already cutting into fabric.

Here are the two books I got.  I love all the projects and may end up making most all of them. I also got a great book on how to machine quilt.  I figured since I can’t hand quilt much anymore and really enjoy the quickness of machine quilting, I’d better learn more about how to do it properly.109886 101534So there you have it.  Never a dull moment here!  My machines are all threaded up and raring to go!  Hopefully I’ll have some more pics to share next week.

Later friends,

Linda

 

 

This entry was posted in Accessories, Autumn, Home, Home Dec, Quilting, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A New Quilt from an Old Pattern

  1. TA says:

    OMG, OMG that is all I keep saying. It is beautiful

Leave a Reply

