Monet Quilt

Hi All,

A most productive week since the weather has been a bit cooler here in Boston.  Plus a Red Bull at noon doesn’t hurt!!  I spent the better part of this week sewing and having fun with a new project, which I’ll post next week.  Think clothesline, scrap fabric and zigzag!

In the meantime, since I tempted you last week with a clue to this week’s  posting,

 Come back next Friday to see what I’ve been working on.  I’ll give you a clue:  Think famous painter who was the founder of French Impressionist painting.  

has anyone guessed??  Correct answer:  OSCAR-CLAUDE MONET

Yes, a Monet Quilt!!!  I love Monet’s work and when I saw this fabric I just had to have it. The fabric came in panels of which I cut up, machine quilted, and then put back together. I also had enough fabric to make 2 coordinating pillows.Monet Quilt 1 Monet Quilt pillows 1I had a plan in my head and I did make a few mistakes along the way but in the end, all worked out great.  I had a close relationship with my seam ripper outer making this quilt. Don’t you just hate to take out stitches??  I have enough to make another quilt and I’ll remember not to make the same mistakes.  And, of course, I out of batting, black fabric and backing fabric so it’s off to the fabric store today.  YEAH!!

One last note:  I was in Walmart last Sunday and came across a sewing machine that I think may help me with my machine quilting.  I have lots of trouble trying to machine quilt with my regular machine so when I saw this at a good price, I treated myself.IMG_1131This is the first machine I own that isn’t a SINGER so I’ll let you know how it works out. For the price of $199.99, it was a great alternative to the $2000-$15,000 machines I’ve been looking at.

See you all again next Friday with a fun project.  I’m thinking Xmas gifts!!!

Linda

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Home, Quilting, Sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monet Quilt

  1. Lois says:

    Just love all your quilts Linda, such a shame I am not visiting any time soon or I would be bringing an empty suitcase with me to bring them home.

Leave a Reply

