TAKING A SIDE TRIP

Good Friday Morning,

This week I’d like to share my latest quilt project.  It’s a gift for a new home.  I found the pattern on the internet and loved the look.  However, I wanted to use autumn themed colors so my quilt looks a bit different than the original but I love it anyway!!!  It’s called “Ombre Herringbone Quilt”  although I named mine “Our Home”.  The directions can be found here if anyone is interested:  http://www.sewdangcutecrafts.com/

Here’s my version I’m calling “Our Home”.  You’ll notice that the border is the same fabric I used on my “Autumn Leaves” quilt because I love it sooo much!  I had to pay attention to the layout as it became a bit confusing.  I don’t see any mistakes…do you?IMG_1109

Here’s a closeup of the machine quilting.  Straight lines following the herringbone pattern and a stipple stitch along the inner border.  Due to arthritis, my days of hand quilting are gone.IMG_1111Here is the back.  Still loving this fabric!  You can really see the gridwork.  And a sneak peek at the pillows.IMG_1116Here are 2 pics of the 4 pillows I made with leftover fabric.  The decorative pillow covers are removable so they can be washed.IMG_1112IMG_1114And I won’t leave you without at least a card or two.

I didn’t have a teacup die so I traced and handcut.  The background is embossed and the flowers and leaves are punched.LAC Tea Cup floral 5-2014 Saw something similar to this on the internet so I made my own.  I used woodgrain stock for the fence, brads for the ‘nails’ and punched some fun flowers.  Simple little corner brackets finish it off.LAC Wood Fence 5-2014 And last is a Paper Embroidery card I made for my partner for a PE/Iris swap.  She received it and loved it!!!yLAC EOP 3D Iris swap 5-2014Well, that’s it for this week.  Come back next Friday to see what I’ve been working on.  I’ll give you a clue:  Think famous painter who was the founder of French Impressionist painting.

See you all next week,

Linda

 

 

This entry was posted in Cards, Embossing, Embroidery on Paper, greeting cards, Handmade cards, Handmade Crafts, Paper punch, Quilting, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TAKING A SIDE TRIP

  1. Lois says:

    Hi Linda
    The quilt and pillows are delightful, going into the autumn colours.
    As usual, your cards are always very creative.

  2. TA says:

    I love the cards but I really love the quilt. I would like you to make me one for my bed as my crochet blanket I have had for 18 years is ready to see the landfill. Talk to you soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

