Baby Boy Hedgehog Quilt

Here I am again with another post for today.  I’m so excited to finally be having a grandson. I have managed to make up a few items for our new baby grandson due this July.  It’s a real treat for me to be sewing for a little boy after having 3 granddaughters in a row.

I purchased this quilt pattern McCalls’ M6721.Pattern

Of course, I changed up the colors to blue, brown, green and white.  This quilt was really very simple to make.  I cut the shapes, backed with 2 sided fusible interfacing and layer by layer applied the pieces to the quilt block using the blanket stitch on my sewing machine.  It did take some time but certainly not as long as if I hand appliqued.  I added a bit of handwork embroidery to the critter faces.  I also did not have any matching stripe fabric for below the hedgehog so I pieced some together.

Entire finished quilt.Hedgehog Quilt 1

Here are the blocks that make up the quilt.Hedgehog Quilt 2 Hedgehog Quilt 2a Hedgehog Quilt 3 Hedgehog Quilt 5 Hedgehog Quilt 4

The pattern called for a few buttons but I make yo-yo’s instead.

To finish off the set I made a matching bib.  I just took the quilt pattern and reduced its size to fit onto the bib.Hedgehog Quilt & Bib

If anyone is interested in making this quilt and has any questions, please feel free to contact me.  I’d be happy to help.

And stay tuned, there’s more to come.

Linda

This entry was posted in Accessories, Baby, Handmade Crafts, Quilting, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baby Boy Hedgehog Quilt

  1. Pingback: Where to our gifts go???? | A Bit Of Me LAC

Leave a Reply

