HERE’S WHAT IS NEXT ON MY LIST…

End of year wind down and new year wind up!!!  I just couldn’t sit still so I went hunting for a new quilt pattern.  I knew I wanted leaves and in autumn colors and when I saw this quilt on the internet, I knew it was the one for me. I searched it out and found the book on Amazon for a crazy low price.Pattern

The colors and layout are beautiful, not too busy but enough to keep interest.  And I liked the fact that the background was light to show off the leaves and all the hard work in putting them together.  Which leads me to my huge purchase of fabric.Fabric

I did purchase more than I need but I like to have extra just in case.  Most of these fabrics are Indonesian batiks.  I have been admiring them for ages at the fabric store and I knew I would use them when I decided to make my leaves quilt.  So after spending 2 hours selecting the fabrics, I went home eager to start.Background cutsHere I’ve cut all the background pieces…..so many pieces.  Yikes!!!  Next will be the stems for the leaves from a brown batik.  These will be done by needle turn applique.  This is not an technique I’m comfortable with and always a challenge for me.  Will prove interesting!

A word of caution:  Read all your instructions first.  I assumed the leaves were a bit larger than they actually are, hence all the little pieces.  Didn’t realize I had to applique either. It’s okay for me, I like to perform miracles LOL.

I’ll continue posting as I progress, if I don’t lose my mind first.

WISH ME LUCK

Linda

This entry was posted in Quilting, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to HERE’S WHAT IS NEXT ON MY LIST…

  1. robinongo says:

    Beautiful, Linda! I’m looking forward to seeing your quilt finished.

Leave a Reply

