Mystery Supplies Project Completed

Good Morning all,

In my last post, you saw a pic of a pile of ‘mystery supplies’.  Did you figure out what I had in mind?  Could you recognize any of the ‘mystery supplies’?  I won’t keep you in suspense any longer.  Here’s what I was up to.

LAC Adam's Quilt 5-2013 frontA quilt using old and worn, but favorite, t-shirts.  My son-in-law has a huge collection of out-dated but cherished t-shirts that he doesn’t really wear anymore but couldn’t part with.  I remember seeing quilts made from the logo’s on t-shirts and decided that he could keep his memorabilia but in a different and usable form. So this is what I came up with for him.  I used 12 logo’s for the front and 2 on the back.  It was a bit of a challenge to incorporate all these shirts. I had 2 left over so decided to put them on the back of the quilt at the bottom along with a signature plate.

LAC Adam's Quilt Back 5-2013

 

I didn’t want the quilt to be too puffy or heavy so I used a sheet in lieu of batting and  added some simple machine quilting to the lattice, which you really can’t see, to keep the layers in place. I used my favorite binding method; sewing the binding on the back by machine, wrapping it to the front and hand stitching in place.

LAC Adams' Quilt Binding 5-2013

 

I may make a couple more, one for my son and another for my other son-in-law, if they want.  One change I would make is to use featherweight fusible interfacing instead of heavyweight (since that’s all I had on hand).  All in all, I think the quilt came out nice for my first try.

If anyone needs further info or would like to comment, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Happy sewing,

Linda

 

This entry was posted in Accessories, Family life, Handmade Crafts, Home, Quilting, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mystery Supplies Project Completed

  1. Robin Heit says:

    You are so clever, Linda!

  2. Barbara says:

    I love it. I did one for my sister and BIL one year..they used to be runners.

Leave a Reply

