There Should Be A Law…..

Hello friends,

There should be a law against any one person purchasing so much fabric at one time.  I was hot and on a roll so I plead guilty of being overly-excited.

To bring you all up to date, my daughter and her hubby are expecting their first child in July. We’ve all been patiently waiting for the ultra-sound news.  Drum roll please……………………

IT’S A GIRL!!!!!  

That news was my green light to proceed to ‘Go’, pick up my $200 and go shopping for fabric.  Within one hour at the fabric store, I managed to spend all my money, plus!  In fact, I had to put some fabrics back.  I looked at my cart and thought that this baby will be in college before I complete all my intended projects.  I carefully chose my favorites, proceeded to checkout and sped home to layout all my purchases and be in fabric heaven! Now the task of putting it all together.

Fabric

I got some flannels to make 3 quick 2-sided blankies, 6 different fabrics to make 2-sided terry/fabric bibs, a Lady and the Tramp no-sew fleece throw and enough fabric to make the dress quilt.  I purchased this pattern for the quilt several months ago, before baby news, in anticipation of another grandchild in the future.  How lucky for me it has come to pass and a GIRL at that!

Qult pattern

Now I will switch out of card making mode and into sewing mode.

Perhaps some of you are gasping at the amount of fabric one person could possibly buy and probably think I’m nuts.  Then there are those rare, chosen few who are cheering me on.   I’m in agreement with the later; one can never have enough fabric!

Oh, and then there was the side trip to the mall where I picked up these way-too-cute onesie tutus.  How could I resist!

Onesie TutusAnyway, this is my mission for the next few weeks.  I will keep you all posted on my quilting progress.  Wish me luck!

Linda

This entry was posted in Accessories, Baby, Family life, Handmade Crafts, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There Should Be A Law…..

  1. Barbara says:

    Grandbabies (especially girls) are the best. Love the outfits and no you are not nuts for buying that much fabric. Just wish I could but don’t have anymore room in my studio for more. I made my last DGD a blanket from Minkee..it is very soft fleece. I sewed it to flannel backing envelope style and then clipped corners and turned and top-stitched the edge and then tied with soft yarn. That has been her favorite blankie…I’ve had to make her 2 more since then. This year at age 4 I made her a purple instead of the pink she so loves. It is her lovely blanket and she takes it everywhere. Enjoy the journey on making her lots of pretty things.

  2. stephshock says:

    This baby will be the best dressed baby around!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

